Poem : The Neighbours

Poem : The Neighbours

Maya Stein is a ninja poet. I met her at Squam Lake, in New Hampshire, during what was a vastly magical time for me : Summer-Fall 2012. Maya leads writing sessions and does very interesting things with typewriters. She has a really strong voice, but a really gentle presence about her.

I learnt a lot about silence at Squam. I find my experience there hard to describe, which is strange, because I’m always full of words. A lot of the time I felt like I was the centre of a slow moving bubbleverse. I have many stories. I think they will wait for me.

Maya does 10-line poems every Tuesday. And there’s a wonderful secret writing group which Maya prompts with interesting words. This was my response to “the neighbors”.

Enjoy. x

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment