Just breathe?

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 3.34.52 PM

Filling up those lungs. That’s what you’re meant to do. There’s that 4-7-8 technique and that holding your breath method – and that’s not even thinking about pranic breathing.

Maybe you love taking deep breaths. Maybe you find it difficult. You might find it easier in the morning. You might find it a simple task to quieten your thoughts at night, to just breathe.

What does the thought of breathing deeply conjure up for you?

I tell people to do this, “breathe”. But I’ve spent most of my life being afraid to, I felt like breathing deeply was daring time to stop. Interesting, isn’t it.

It’s getting a bit easier, though, with the child pose and patchouli, a scent I never liked, but is almost hypnotic to me now.

Sometimes, who am I kidding – most of the time, I find myself wondering, “Is it good enough to just breathe? Am I being irresponsible by putting my breath first, and not the million things that need doing right now?”

Think about it. Your brain only operates properly when it receives oxygen. If you don’t have the time and space to breathe, but you expect yourself to fully engage your thinking, isn’t that kind of paradoxical?

So, yes, to answer my own question – sort of, yes. It is good enough to ‘just breathe’. But you need the strength to not panic, and keep breathing until you are calm.

Once the breathing is done, comes the decisioning, and the being alive.

 

Leave a Reply

