Capua to Clouds

Crixus Naevia

A little heavy this time.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve stumbled upon two people’s lives who ended too soon. Zach Sobiech’s battle with bone cancer and more importantly his beautiful spirit in facing it (video below) and Andy Whitfield, who played Spartacus in the starz original series. Andy was an immensely focused actor who brought a lot of stillness and power to a role that could have easily been overplayed and under-emoted. Andy passed away of lymphoma in September 2011, and there’s a documentary about his last days to be released soon.

Cancer is something I think everyone has to come to terms with. It touches all of us indirectly. These two boys have put a lot of questions in my head.

So, be here now. That’s the title of Andy’s film. And it’s also what Zach sort of said : “You don’t have to find out you’re dying to start living”. It’s an ancient sentiment. Have heard it a zillion times. But I’m facing it today. Now, I’m a girl with her head in the clouds. The power of the screen is that even people with their head in the clouds can spend time with people (characters), but on one/s own terms. And because of this, I am feeling quite reflective about Andy and Zach. And I have been checking myself from time to time these past few days. “Are you here? Are you living? Are you zoning out?”

Sometimes it is just that simple.

That’s Crixus and Naevia on my desktop. Yep. Capua got to me. It’s a visceral show, Spartacus. Violence is made beautiful in ways I haven’t even begun to contemplate, just because I have surprised myself at how I’m able to watch a show that’s so rooted in it [violence] when usually, I run to a corner and shut my eyes and close my ears. But that’s it, isn’t it? If there is an element of purpose, then you’re there. In the moment. No matter what it is. That is what I took away from Spartacus. It doesn’t matter what it’s about, your hang-ups go out the door when you’re really in tune with what you desire. Crixus, played by Manu Bennett (who himself lost his mum and brother in two separate car accidents), especially showed me that you can channel passion into focus. And that your emotions are not a weakness. Few actors bring this much truth to their work. (Ellen Page is one of them – she employs realism to great effect.)

Spartacus demonstrated to me that even behind the largest of egos, there is a heart. I have battled my thoughts and conscience before on this matter, but the incredible writing and production values behind Spartacus helped me really grasp that we all need something to live for. And once we do, many little things fade away and the colour gets turned back on. 

I’m on my way to Singapore to the Asian Festival of Children’s Content (@zenblasphemy on Instagram, #afcc2013 on twitter @ashvina).

My first time taking H_n out of the Klang Valley. 

For those of you who don’t know, Han/Hun is short for the Han Solo/Hundred Acre Wood, depending on my mood. And yes, I have named my MacBook Pro, as I’ve named all my devices. I was inspired by @eepings – follow her on Twitter. She is a special soul with her finger on Malaysia’s pulse.

As for Malaysia, I’m afraid the government is not being very gracious about things. It’s vexing everyone here. I wonder if you understand.

Till next time.
xx
ash

One thought on “Capua to Clouds

  1. Manu Bennett revealed that Naevia’s actress Cynthia Addai Robinson’s father had passed away from cancer, and she used her father’s death during Crixus death scene, so she was crying for real. Very sad.

Leave a comment