Type Tuesday – Mission Gothic


Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 10.08.59 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-02 at 10.37.30 PM

Ohhh, cluckens. Guess what got into my inbox and put a HUGE smile on my face after a stressful evening?

A new typeface. *beams*
Hosted by the beautifully designed Lost Type Co-op  – “a Pay-What-You-Want Type foundry, the first of its kind.”

5 weights. 2 styles

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 10.18.34 AM

“Mission Gothic is a relic; a ghost from an era where letters were hand-painted on wood and glass.”

How can I not love that when I spent most of my time in the UK forlornly waving at hand-painted signage?

It’s “a Gothic Sans inspired by San Franciso’s Mission District”.

Designed by James T. Edmonson, a “student at California College of the Arts in San Francisco”
and Trevor Baum, “a designer who loves type, bicycles, and Jewish delis.”


Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 10.18.55 AM

I really needed this. It’s lovely. It’s compact, well-spaced, modern (but retains class). It manages, somehow, to be a little cheeky.

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 10.18.14 AM

My favourite thing about it? The embellished (cursive) ‘k’ in italic mode. 

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 10.18.45 AM

And look what I found while trying to find you a Jewish Delicatessen?

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 10.25.00 PM

I spot Copperplate Gothic Bold! *jumps*

Which is designed by the same dude who did Goudy Old Style and is used in the old logo of Universal Pictures.

Oh, how I love letters. Words and letters. Letters and words. 
/sighs

Disclaimer : Everything before I started babbling about Jewish Delis was shared from Lost Type Co-op’s website, run by the brilliant Riley Cran and Tyler Galpin.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

